FAQ

1) Comment choisir le bon programme d’interface SwissKubiK ?

Il existe 2 générations d’écrins rotatifs SwissKubiK.

1A)  Première génération

Les écrins rotatifs SwissKubiK produits jusqu’au premier semestre 2010 nécessitent l’utilisation d’un câble USB ainsi que d’un programme d’interface spécifiques. Ce programme et ce câble spécifiques sont vendus chez les principaux revendeurs SwissKubiK. Ce programme d’interface ne fonctionne que sur les ordinateurs PC. Il n’est pas possible de reprogrammer ces écrins de première génération avec des ordinateurs Mac.

1B)  Seconde génération

La majorité des écrins SwissKubiK produits depuis le début de l’année 2010 (sous réserve de certaines séries) nécessitent l’utilisation d’un câble USB standard que vous pouvez acheter chez tous les revendeurs informatiques. Câble USB 1 ou 2, identique à ceux utilisés pour la plupart des appareils photo (Type A + Mini Type B).

Pour les écrins SwissKubiK de la deuxième génération, le programme d’interface est téléchargeable ici pour PC et Mac.

2) Je ne sais pas si mon écrin rotatif SwissKubiK est de la première ou de la seconde génération et je ne sais pas quel programme d’interface je dois utiliser.

2A) Votre écrin rotatif SwissKubiK a été acheté avant la fin de l’année 2009. Il est assurément de la première génération est nécessite le programme d’interface spécifique disponible chez votre revendeur SwissKubiK. Ce programme est utilisable uniquement sur PC (voir également la réponse 1A).

2B) Les écrins rotatifs SwissKubiK produits depuis le deuxième semestre de l’année 2010 ont une date de fabrication qui est inscrite sous le couvercle des piles. Dans ce cas, votre écrin rotatif est assurément un écrin de la seconde génération qui nécessite un câble USB standard et le programme d’interface disponible sur notre site Internet www.swisskubik.com (voir également la réponse 1B).

2C) Dans le cas où votre écrin rotatif SwissKubiK a été acheté après le 1er janvier 2010 et qu’il est étiqueté d’un numéro de série et non pas d’une date de fabrication (sous le couvercle des piles) il est nécessaire de tester votre écrin avec un câble USB standard et le programme d’interface disponible sur le site Internet www.swisskubik.com . Si votre écrin rotatif n’est pas reconnu par ce programme, il s’agit probablement d’un écrin de la première génération qui nécessite le programme d’interface spécifique vendu chez votre revendeur SwissKubiK. Ce programme ne fonctionne que sur PC.

Pour être certain que le programme d’interface SwissKubiK que vous avez installé sur votre ordinateur est incompatible avec votre écrin rotatif SwissKubiK, vérifiez également que votre ordinateur détecte bien la connexion d’un nouveau périphérique USB.
!!! Lorsque vous branchez votre écris rotatif SwissKubiK dans la prise USB de votre ordinateur, votre ordinateur doit vous signaler qu’il détecte la connexion d’un périphérique USB par un signal sonore (même si aucun programme d’interface SwissKubiK n’est installé sur votre ordinateur). Dans le cas où vous n’entendez aucun signal sonore, il se peut qu’il y ait simplement un problème d’incompatibilité avec les fiches USB de votre ordinateur. Dans ce cas, reportez-vous à la réponse 4A)

3) Je n’arrive pas à programmer mon écrin rotatif SwissKubiK avec mon ordinateur Mac.

3 A) Dans le cas où votre écrin rotatif SwissKubiK n’est pas identifiable par le programme SwissKubiK installé correctement sur votre ordinateur Mac, il s’agit certainement d’un écrin de la première génération qui nécessite l’utilisation d’un programme d’interface spécifique disponible chez votre revendeur SwissKubiK. Ce programme ne fonctionne que sur les ordinateurs PC. (Voir également les réponses de la question 2)

4) Le programme d’interface SwissKubiK est correctement installé sur mon ordinateur, mais l’écrin rotatif n’est pas reconnu par l’ordinateur lorsque je connecte la prise USB.

4A) La norme USB peut légèrement varier entre les différents fabricants d’ordinateurs. Il est possible que certains ordinateurs ne reconnaissent pas votre écrin rotatif SwissKubiK.
Lorsque vous connecter votre écrin rotatif SwissKubiK dans la prise USB de votre ordinateur, celui-ci doit détecter la connexion d’un nouveau périphérique USB. Vous devez entendre un signal sonore indiquant la connexion de ce nouveau périphérique, même si aucun programme SwissKubiK n’est installé sur votre ordinateur. (Bien entendu, le son de votre ordinateur ne doit pas être coupé). Dans le cas où vous n’entendez aucun signale sonore lorsque vous connecter votre écrin rotatif SwissKubiK dans la prise USB de votre ordinateur, c’est qu’il y a un problème d’incompatibilité entre les fiches USB de vote ordinateur et le système USB de votre écrin rotatif SwissKubiK. Afin de remédier à ce problème, vous pouvez connecter votre écrin rotatif SwissKubiK par l’intermédiaire d’un Hub USB.

5) Le programme est correctement installé sur mon ordinateur, mais l’écrin rotatif n’apparaît pas dans l’interface du programme.

5A) Vérifier que vous utiliser le bon programme d’interface en fonction de la génération de votre écrin rotatif SwissKubiK. Voir les questions 1) et 2)

5B) Vérifiez que votre ordinateur détecte bien la connexion du nouveau périphérique USB. Voir la question 4)

5C) Vérifiez que votre programme soit correctement installé. Pour le programme de la première génération vendu spécifiquement chez les revendeurs SwissKubiK, il est important de suivre les instructions du mode d’emploi. Il faut impérativement cocher la case « Launch the CP210x VCP Driver Installer » lors de l’installation et redémarrer votre ordinateur lorsque l’installation est complètement terminée. En cas de doute, désinstaller le programme de votre ordinateur et réinstaller le à nouveau.

5D) Si le programme ne détecte toujours pas votre écrin rotatif SwissKubiK, fermez le programme, déconnecter la prise USB de votre ordinateur, reconnecter la fiche USB sur votre ordinateur avec votre écrin rotatif en position allumé et redémarrer le programme d’interface SwissKubiK.

Quand le programme d’interface SwissKubiK reconnaît votre écrin rotatif, il est signalé de la manière suivante :

Programme pour les écrins de la première génération :

A) Cliquer dans la case « CHECK LINK »
B) Si votre écrin rotatif est reconnu par le programme d’interface, la mention « OK » doit apparaître dans la case « B »
C) Cliquer dans la case « READ » pour connaître la configuration actuelle de votre écrin rotatif SwissKubiK
D) Cliquer dans la case « WRITE » après avoir rempli le sens de rotation et le nombre de tours par jour pour enregistrer une nouvelle configuration dans votre écrin rotatif SwissKubiK
E) Cliquer dans la case « RESET » pour enregistrer les valeurs par défaut dans votre écrin rotatif SwissKubiK

Programme pour les écrins de la seconde génération :

A) Cliquer dans la case « Scanner »
B) Si votre écrin rotatif est reconnu par le programme d’interface, Le logo de votre écrin doit apparaître dans la fenêtre de gauche. Cliquer ensuite sur ce logo pour connaître la configuration actuelle de votre écrin rotatif SwissKubiK.
C) Cliquer ensuite sur l’onglet « Configuration » pour modifier les paramètres de votre écrin rotatif SwissKubiK.

7) Comment connaître le nombre de tours idéal et le sens de rotation pour le remontage de ma montre automatique ?

7A) D’origine les écrins rotatifs SwissKubiK sont programmés avec un nombre total de 1'900 rotations par jour, dans les deux sens de rotations. (950 rotations dans chaque sens). Ce réglage standard correspond à la majorité des montres automatiques disponibles sur le marché.
Cependant, si ce réglage ne correspond pas votre montre automatique ou si vous désirez programmer un réglage plus spécifique, il vous faut contacter votre revendeur de montre ou la marque, afin de connaître les besoins spécifiques de votre montre automatique.

FAQ

1) How do I choose the right SwissKubiK interface program?

There are two generations of SwissKubiK automatic rotating watch winders in existence.

1A)  First generation

SwissKubiK automatic rotating watch winders produced up to the first half of 2010 require the use of a specific USB lead and interface program, which can both be purchased from major SwissKubiK retailers. This interface program only functions on PC computers. It is not possible to reprogram first generation automatic watch winders on Mac computers.

1B)  Second generation

The majority of SwissKubiK automatic watch winders produced since the beginning of 2010 (certain lines excepted) require the use of a standard USB lead which can be purchased from all computer suppliers. USB lead 1 or 2, identical to those used with most cameras (Type A + Mini Type B).

For second generation SwissKubiK automatic watch winders, the interface program can be downloaded here for PC and Mac.

2) I do not know if my SwissKubiK automatic rotating watch winder is first or second generation, and do not know which interface program I must use.

2A) If your SwissKubiK automatic rotating watch winder was purchased before the end of 2009, it is definitely first generation and requires the specific interface program available from your SwissKubiK retailer. This program can only be used on PC (also see answer 1A).

2B) SwissKubiK automatic rotating watch winders produced since the second half of 2010 have a date of manufacture inscribed under the battery cover. In this case, your automatic watch winder is definitely second generation and requires a standard USB lead and the interface program available on our website at www.swisskubik.com (also see answer 1B).

2C) If your SwissKubiK automatic rotating watch winder was purchased after 1st January 2010 and has a serial number on a label, not a date of manufacture (under the battery cover) you need to test it with a standard USB lead and the interface program available at www.swisskubik.com . If your automatic watch winder is not recognised by this program, it is probably a first generation make, requiring the specific interface program, which can be purchased from your SwissKubiK retailer. This program only functions on PC.

To be certain that the SwissKubiK interface program that you have installed on your computer is incompatible with your SwissKubiK automatic rotating watch winder, you should also make sure that your computer is able to pick up the connection of a new USB peripheral.
!!! When you plug your SwissKubiK automatic rotating watch winder into the USB outlet of your computer, your computer should indicate that it is picking up the connection of a USB peripheral by a loud noise as a signal (even if there is no SwissKubiK interface program installed on your computer). If you do not hear a loud noise, it may simply be due to a problem of incompatibility with the USB plugs on your computer. In that case, refer to answer 4A.

3) I am unable to program my SwissKubiK automatic rotating watch winder on my Mac computer.

3A) If your SwissKubiK automatic watch winder cannot be identified by the SwissKubiK program installed correctly on your Mac computer, then it is certainly a first generation make, requiring the use of a specific interface program available from your SwissKubiK retailer. This program only functions on PC computers. (See also the answers to question 2)

4) The SwissKubiK interface program is correctly installed on my computer, but the automatic rotating watch winder is not recognised by the computer when I connect it into the USB outlet.

4A) The USB standard may vary slightly between different computer manufacturers. It is possible that certain computers do not recognise your SwissKubiK automatic watch winder.
When you connect your SwissKubiK automatic watch winder into the USB outlet on your computer, the computer should pick up the connection of a new USB peripheral. You should hear a loud noise as a signal indicating the connection of this new peripheral, even if there is no SwissKubiK program installed on your computer. (Of course, the sound from your computer should not be cut off). If you do not hear a loud noise when connecting your SwissKubiK automatic rotating watch winder into the USB outlet on your computer, it means that there is a problem of incompatibility between the USB plugs of your computer and the USB system of your SwissKubiK automatic watch winder. To resolve this problem, you can connect your SwissKubiK automatic watch winder with a USB Hub.

5) The program is correctly installed on my computer, but the automatic rotating watch winder does not appear in the interface of the program.

5A) Make sure you are using the right interface program for the generation to which your SwissKubiK automatic rotating watch winder belongs. See questions 1) and 2)

5B) Make sure your computer is picking up the connection of the new USB peripheral. See question 4)

5C) Make sure that your program is correctly installed. With the first generation program sold specifically by SwissKubiK retailers, it is important to follow the instructions for use. It is essential that you click on the « Launch the CP210x VCP Driver Installer » box when installing, and that you then start your computer up again when the process is completed. If in doubt, just de-install the program from your computer and re-install it from the beginning.

5D) If the program still fails to detect your SwissKubiK automatic rotating watch winder, shut down the program, disconnect the USB plug from your computer, reconnect it to the computer with the automatic watch winder switched on, and start up the SwissKubiK interface program again.

When the SwissKubiK interface program recognises your automatic rotating watch winder, this is indicated as follows :

Program for first generation automatic watch winders:

A) Click on « CHECK LINK »
B) If your automatic watch winder is recognised by the interface program, the indication « OK » should appear in box « B »
C) Click on « READ » to ascertain the current configuration of your SwissKubiK automatic watch winder.
D) Click on « WRITE » after filling in the direction of rotation and the number of rotations per day to record a new configuration in your SwissKubiK automatic rotating watch winder.
E) Click on « RESET » to record the default values in your SwissKubiK automatic watch winder.

Program for second generation automatic watch winders:

A) Click on « Scanner »
B) If your automatic watch winder is recognised by the interface program, its logo should appear in the window on the left. Click on the logo to ascertain the current configuration of your SwissKubiK automatic rotating watch winder.
C) Click next on the « Configuration » tab to adjust the settings of your SwissKubiK automatic watch winder.

NB. Translations of some French terms in the diagram are given on a separate page at the end.

7) How do I know the ideal number of rotations and direction of rotation for winding my automatic watch?

7A) SwissKubiK automatic rotating watch winders are programmed at a total number of 1,900 rotations per day in both directions (950 rotations in each direction). This standard setting corresponds to the majority of automatic watches currently on the market.
However, if this setting does not correspond to your automatic watch or if you wish to program a more specific setting, then you should contact your retailer or the make of the watch to ascertain its specific requirements.